Friday, June 15, 2012

Pauly and Tiger talk about the rules.

REPOSTED FROM THE FORUMS (cause forums are cool like that)


hey tigermisu,

great questions! i might repost this whole convo to the blog.

but in order to answer correctly, and to do your hard work any justice, let me break it all down and respond bit by bit.


Tiger - If I have a 4/8 unit, my opponent has a 7/7 unit, this ends in a double block. Do the units "lose" life and end up with 4/1 - 7/3?

Pauly - At the end of the day, the 4/8 unit and the 7/3 unit are still alive and unscathed and stays where they are. the trick is to not have to keep count with pencil and paper. they can "catch their breath" or "apply bandages" and be ok next turn. this was one of the real life things i had to nerf in order to feed game mechanics.


Tiger - My warcamp gets attacked and my unit dies, I lose one cultural point, does this cultural point go to the life of the attacker?

Pauly - ok so you've lost a point in your warcamp. this affects YOU only. no one gains from your loss... no vampires in the game... just like in real life. the only way i would make a card like that would be like a "spy" card and i haven't made any of those.

i may come up also with "spoils of war" type of stuff and they get to steal something from you... but not yet.


Tiger - Let's say he bands a light archer 6/1, a hun unit 5/3 and a tripple ballista 9/3 in his 0/12 fortress. What would be the total stats of the fortress? We thought it would be 20/19, but at some point it reaches so many cards it seems impossible to take!

Pauly - aha! common mistake... no worries. ok... it would be a THREE/TWELVE because there are only THREE cards in the fortress. even samson is treated as a +1 attack when encamped.

the thought here is that even though they may be awesome outside the walls, inside they are just another archer or a guy with a rock.


Tiger -If we got the fortress/banding idea wrong, how does it actually work? What if we have a 4/2, 3/1 and 4/8 unit banded and they get attacked with a guy with 10/3, one with 5/5 or one with 15/15? what different results would that net?

Pauly -

a) 10/3 - ok so your three dudes are up in the semna fortress sipping coffee and bang bang bang goes the door. they look out and it's a 10/3 dude. they all shoot... he blocks their shots but still can't break the door down. (10/3 vs. 3/12 = double block)

b) 5/5 - they sit back down and wouldn't you know it, on the next turn a 5/5 guy walks up and starts pounding on the castle. they shoot at him, laugh and everyone walks away with another harmless war story. (5/5 vs. 3/12 = double block)

c) 15/15 well it was all fun and games until the horsemen platoon got wind of this debacle. they run down the gate, smash the fortress and slaughter them all, then set fire to the bricks (15/15 vs. 3/12 = attacker wins. unit is discarded)*

here is the sad truth about fortresses... you are at the mercy of it's walls health. there is no life inside a breached castle. we've all seen what happened at helms deep. LOL. wait. no gandalf in this game.


Tiger - Now let's say we want to unband units from eachother/from a fortress, can we do this in our army phase freely, or do we need a special card?

Pauly - Treat fortresses as warcamps. move around wherever you want in army phase


Tiger - If we use an instant effect tactic card, can it get discarded and get to use another one in the same turn? can we discard cards from our hand directly into our pile if we find them useless? what about discarding kingdom/soldiers already in play?

Pauly - you can play ten tactics cards in a turn as far as i'm concerned. a hundred if you can pull it off legally. whatever tactics card is played - BOOM! it happens. if you lay another on top of that one, then the NEW card is trumping the old card.... and so on.

ok discarding cards happens during resolve phase. i think i should spell that out in the rules more. yes you can discard your whole hand if you want to.

discarding stuff from the field of play happens in each phase. you can discard your supply line during harvest phase (why God why?), you can discard your strategy and kingdom during kingdom phase and you can discard your warcamp and battlefield during army phase.


Tiger - Finally, the Julian Calendar ultra-rare, it makes it your turn inmediately, however, how can I toggle it when it's not my turn? Can I halt an opponent's turn when he hasn't finished? Does the rotation resume clockwise or it continues on where I broke it?

pauly - i tend to play this card right before someone i want to lose is getting ready to play. that is why it is ultra rare. it's like the evil skip-bo card.

remember...YOU CAN PLAY TACTICS CARDS WHENEVER THE HECK YOU FEEL LIKE. when it is a three man game with me, david and a.j. sometimes i will just long range barrage david when he is walking over to attack a.j. cause i feel like it. it's the coolest part about tactics cards. you can interrupt someone when it's not your turn.


thanks tiger! great questions! i will now have to go retype a bunch of stuff. hehe. it's great that you guys had fun! you should record your next game and put it on youtube and post the link in here!

No comments:

Post a Comment